About AAUP-WSU and Our Chapter Constitution; Joining AAUP-WSU

To quote from the Association’s web site:

“The mission of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post‐doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good.”

Wright State University’s chapter–the AAUP-WSU–welcomes all university faculty into its membership. The chapter acts as the collective bargaining agent for a single, unified bargaining unit officially formed from two previously separate units: (1) tenure-track and tenured faculty (excepting those holding certain administrative appointments at the rank of chair and higher) on both the Dayton and Celina (Lake) campuses, and (2) non-tenure-eligible “NTE” faculty (excepting those with primary appointments in the Boonshoft School of Medicine or the School of Professional Psychology) on both the Dayton and Celina (Lake) campuses. All Wright State University faculty–adjunct faculty, faculty with administrative appointments, faculty with primary appointments in the Boonshoft School of Medicine or the School of Professional Psychology–as well as faculty in the bargaining unit described above — are cordially invited to join the AAUP-WSU, as are emeritus faculty, academic professionals, and graduate students.

Chapter Constitution


Why Join AAUP-WSU?

The chapter invites all Wright State University faculty to join AAUP-WSU, and faculty have many reasons to do so. To quote the May-June 2004 issue of AAUP’s bulletin Academe,

“Some of the most important professional challenges facing faculty members these days are coming from outside the classroom, library, and laboratory. Now, more than ever, we need to work together to defend shared values and the quality of higher education in our country.”

Members of the collective bargaining unit have even greater incentive to join AAUP-WSU. Chapter members can …

  • Vote to elect chapter officers (or even serve as officers)
  • Vote to ratify any tentative collective bargaining agreement (CBA, sometimes called our contract) resulting from negotiations with the WSU administration
  • Serve on the Negotiating Team that undertakes negotiations for our CBA.

How to Join AAUP-WSU

To join the Wright State University chapter of the AAUP, simply print out a combined membership and payroll deduction consent form, fill it in, and send it to the chapter.

For persons in the Collective Bargaining Unit, please use this RCM Membership Form 2019.08.06.